Kawartha Downs is pleased to announce that it will once again partner with Shorelines Casinos, which operate the Slots at Kawartha Downs, to present the Shorelines Drivers’ Championship on closing night of our 2017 racing season, September 30.

The championship, which was the brainchild of Nick Boyd, one of Kawartha Downs’ leading drivers, was introduced in 2015. The inaugural season it was won by Tony Kerwood and last year, the first partnered with Shorelines, Reg Gassien took top honours.

The contest sees the top nine drivers at the Fraserville track competing through a series of races and earning points depending upon their finish in each race. The top point earner at the end of the competition is the champion.

“Its a great way to end the season. We have a passionate and loyal fan base who enjoy watching the drivers and horses they see weekly. As a driver who has been fortunate to participate in the event, being able to interact with the customers is a fantastic experience. They have done a great job growing this initial idea,” said Boyd.

Of course the drivers’ colony this year will have a new look with the retirement during the off season of Gord Brown, the driver who has won more races at Kawartha Downs than any other in its 45 year history. Gord will now serve as expert analyst each race night and co-host a pre race show with announcer Evan Loucks.

“We are pleased to partner with Kawartha Downs as the sponsor of the 2017 Shorelines Drivers’ Challenge. On September 30 we encourage everyone to come out and cheer on their favourite driver as the night is bound to be filled with fun and excitement,” said Bryan Buchanan, General Manager of Shorelines Slots at Kawartha Downs.

Kawartha Downs’ 2017 harness racing season gets underway on Saturday, May 27 and continues every Saturday night until September 30 (with the exception of September 16). Post time is 7 p.m.

Bryan Buchanan, Deb Giroux, Sean Clark and Barry McNair of Shorelines presented Shorelines jackets and swag to each of the drivers competing in last year’s Shorelines Drivers’ Championship – from right winner Reg Gassien, second place Tony Kerwood (2015 winner), third place finisher Nick Boyd along with Justin Turcotte, Rick Webb, Pat Rouleau, Doug Hie, Murray Brethour and Gord Brown.