Tony Kerwood was the star of Kawartha Downs’ final 2015 race card as he captured the Drivers’ Challenge which featured the top eight drivers at the Fraserville track over the course of the season in front of a great crowd despite the rainy evening.

Five of the 11 races on the card were dedicated to the drivers’ challenge which featured four of the veterans, Kerwood, Reg Gassien, Gord Brown and Doug Hie versus four of the young guns, Nick Boyd, Dagfin Henriksen, Clarke Steacy and Justin Turcotte.


Boyd kicked the contest off with a 1:59 victory behind Stimulus Spending in the first split. Dagfin Henriksen, who normally doesn’t drive pacers, showed he knows his way around them as he won with pacer Confident Fella in 1:58.4 and then was back to the winner’s circle with a trotter, Im Yelling Timber. Also winning races in the challenge were Reg Gassien and Clarke Steacy.

But it was Tony Kerwood who was Mr. Consistency as he finished second in all five challenge races to take the title. The total point standings are as follows:

1. Tony Kerwood – 125
2. Dagfin Henriksen – 110
3. Reg Gassien – 77
4. Nick Boyd – 75
5. Clarke Steacy – 70
6. Gord Brown – 34
7. Justin Turcotte – 17
8. Doug Hie – 5

Kawartha’s leading driver for the season, Gord Brown, won three races on the card, unfortunately they weren’t part of the challenge!

Minister of Agriculture and Peterborough MPP Jeff Leal sponsored a race on the card which is the final of the 2015 season which began in late May and extended over every Saturday evening throughout the summer and fall.

Kawartha Downs extends warm thanks to our fans, horse people and staff for another wonderful season. Looking forward to seeing you all in 2016!